

2B

AITKIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

January 7, 2025 9:00 a.m. Government Center Board Room

Regular Session Minutes

1.A CALL TO ORDER

Chair Wedel called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Attendee Name	Title	Status
J. Mark Wedel	District #1	Present
Laurie Westerlund	District #2	Present
Travis Leiviska	District #3	Present
Bret Sample	District #4	Present
Michael Kearney	District #5	Present
Jessica Seibert	County Administrator	Present
April Kellerman	Administrative Assistant	Present

1.B PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

1.C APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the agenda, as amended.

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

Adding item 8F

1.D Citizens Public Comment - None

2 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

A) Correspondence File-

December 23, 2024 - January 6, 2025

B) Approve County Board Minutes-

December 23, 2024

C) Approve County Board Minutes-

December 17, 2024 Budget Hearing

ADJOURN 2024 Board

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

3 Oath of Elected Officials - Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

4 Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

A) Call to Order 2025 Board Meeting

B) Nomination for Board Chair and Vice Chair

Board Chair

Commissioner Leiviska nominated Commissioner Wedel for Board Chair. No other nominations. Motion made by Commissioner Leiviska and seconded by Commissioner Kearney, to cease nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Commissioner Wedel for Board Chair.

Vice Chair

Commissioner Leiviska nominated Commissioner Kearney for Vice Chair. No other nominations. Motion made by Commissioner Wedel and seconded by Commissioner Leiviska, to cease nominations and cast unanimous ballot for Commissioner Wedel for Board Chair.

5 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska
SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

A) Adopt Resolution-

LG230 Application to Conduct Off-sight Gambling - Minnewawa Sportsmen's Club

B) Adopt Resolution-

LG220 Application for Exempt Permit - Lawler Area Community Club

C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

Total \$1,715,193.16

D) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants 12.31.24

General	\$114,484.01	State	\$312.34	Trust	\$9,933.37	Forest	\$76.62
Taxes	\$436.00	LLCC	\$4,952.42	Parks	\$63.90	Total	\$130,258.66

E) Approve Commissioner's Vouchers

R&B Warrants 12.31.24

R&B \$60,958.63					Total	\$60,958.63
-----------------	--	--	--	--	-------	-------------

F) Adopt Resolution-

Grant Agreement No. 1057541 (SAP 001-605-015)

G) Adopt Resolution-

Grant Agreement No. 1057625 (SAP 001-598-016)

H) Approve-

Used Pickup Truck Equipment Purchase

I) Approve-

Out-of-State Travel

J) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

Manual Warrants 12.31.2024

General \$2,230.31	State \$90.00	Taxes \$12.28	Total	\$2,332.59

K) Approve Commissioner's Vouchers

Commissioner Warrants 01.03.2025

General \$304,811.20	R&B \$2,774.62	Unorgan. \$15,745.43	Trust \$266.42
Forest \$91.70	LLCC \$1,384.76	Parks \$108.91	Total \$325,183.04

L) Adopt Resolution-

Sheriff's Office Donation - SHERP

M) Approve-

Purchase Transport Vehicle

N) Approve-

Purchase of 2025 Alaskan Boat

O) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

HHS Auditor Warrants 01.03.2025

General \$30.10	HHS \$32,749.56	Total	\$32,779.66
-----------------	-----------------	-------	-------------

Regular Agenda

6A John Welle - County Engineer

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Award Contract 20256

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Greg Payment - AIM VCET Commander/ Aitkin County SGT Informational Only AIM VCET - 3 yr Overview - Discussion Only **RESULT:** INFORMATIONAL ONLY MOVER: SECONDER: Jessica Seibert - County Administrator **8A** Motion to: Approve 2025 Board Meeting Schedule APPROVED (5 TO 0) RESULT: MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund Jessica Seibert - County Administrator 8B Motion to: Adopt Resolution - 2025 Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedures RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska as amended, friendly amendment to complete Department Head section after Jan. 28th **Board Meeting** Jessica Seibert - County Administrator 8C Motion to: Adopt Resolution - Designation of Official County Newspaper **RESULT:** APPROVED (5 TO 0) Commissioner Bret Sample MOVER: SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney Jessica Seibert - County Administrator 8D Motion to: Adopt Resolution - 2025 Committee Appointments RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska as amended 8E Jessica Seibert - County Administrator Informational Only Administrator Updates Regular 1:1s, Interim Auditor sworn in, Podcasts continue, Coffee with Jessica, Strategic Plan Update 8F Jessica Seibert - County Administrator Motion to: Approve JPA with Jevne Township APPROVED (5 TO 0) **RESULT:** MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska **Board of Commissioners** 9A Motion to: Commissioner Committee Updates ARDC Conference Call **Motion to Adjourn** Motion made at 9:53 a.m. MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska Tuesday, January 28, 2025 **Next Meeting:** J. Mark Wedel, Board Chair Jessica Seibert Aitkin County Board of Commissioner County Administrator